Uncategorized

We all need a good support system

support

How do you get through a tough situation? Do you have a close friend or family member that you rely on when you need support? How about a local community support group? We all need someone or a group of someone’s to help us through our troubled times. I am a believer in having a good support system behind you.

I know we have our family, friends and some of us even have therapists to talk to but what about when it comes to support for healthy life changes? We all mature and make changes for ourselves that our loved ones may not agree with or be able to support us with. I know when I made the changes to be healthier it was a struggle in my own home. My husband and our kids did not want to eat the healthier foods and they weren’t interested in going to the gym with me. I had to realize that my life changes were not what they wanted for themselves and so with the help of some friends I started a support group once a week at the community center in my town. We are all like minded individuals that need help and support to keep us moving forward on our quest to get/be healthy. We have been meeting one day a week for a couple of years now.

I am so appreciative of this little group we have because I know I can talk to them about my struggles and they will help guide me and keep me on track. We set individual goals as well as group goals for ourselves and we encourage each other and most importantly we are there for each other when we need it. We discuss what works for us and what isn’t working. I believe the old saying it takes a village…. No one was put on this earth to do it alone. I really think we need a great support team to keep us pushing ourselves in the right direction.

If you don’t have a support group in your community consider starting one. You just might be surprised that there are people out there that would love to join you. If you don’t want to be responsible for your own group join groups online. I know SlimMe1 has a few groups on Facebook that have been very helpful to me. We are all complete strangers to one another, spread all over the world but we are able to ask questions and get answers and a lot of support from one another. The compassion and friendliness from these strangers amazes me.

I guess what I am saying is you aren’t alone on this journey. There are plenty of us out here going through what you are going through. Reach out to us and find the support system you need to keep you on the right path to getting yourself healthy.

Leave a Reply

